We can finally tackle it!

Early in the morning, and even on the minute, our delivery of the beans arrived at Diani Sea Lodge today. A quick check showed us: the quality is perfect!
The team of volunteers was eager to finally get started. As soon as the truck was unloaded, the delivery arrived from the Shree Greengrocer supermarket. Oil and the essential staple food cornmeal were on the truck.
All helping hands had to be washed properly and despite the heat everyone had to wear their face masks.
The crew of Shree was not only unloading the goods but also offered us to help. There the name Diani Pamoja gets its meaning – we all help together – just awesome!
After a short consideration it was clear: first 7 kilos of beans in the sacks, on top of that – well arranged – 12 kilos of corn flour and next to it, protected from toppling over, another liter of cooking oil. Rope around it, glue on it – this quickly resulted in a hand-in-hand work, as if the team had been practicing for a long time.
After two and a half intense hours, the first 205 packages were stuffed into the truck and ready for pickup on Thursday. Another 205 packages were on the shelves after the well-deserved lunch break with pizza and soft drinks.
Many thanks to all helping hands!
A special thank you goes to the Welcome Inn Hotels (Diani Sea Resort and Diani Sea Lodge), who have provided us with the infrastructure of one of their hotels, and of course to the dedicated team of the Shree Greengrocers Supermarket, who not only helped us with the delivery but also supported us with their truck.

There is one small correction we still have to pass on: The government is asking us to adjust our food packages so that all families receive the same content from all helping organisations and that there is social fairness as far as possible. We have gladly adapted to this request – especially since our packages will become cheaper and we can help even more families than planned!
For the statisticians among us: the team has packed more than 8 tons of food today – let us give kudos to all helpers !

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

*
*

Wir dürfen endlich anpacken!

Früh am Morgen, und sogar auf die Minute pünktlich, kam heute unsere Lieferung mit den Bohnen in der Diani Sea Lodge an. Eine kurze Prüfung zeigte uns: die Qualität stimmt!
Das Team der freiwilligen Helfer war heiß darauf, endlich anpacken zu können. Kaum war der LKW entladen, kam auch schon die Lieferung vom Shree Greengrocer Supermarkt. Öl und das hier so wichtige Grundnahrungsmittel Maismehl waren an Bord.
Alle helfenden Hände mussten ordentlich gewaschen werden und trotz Wärme mussten alle Ihren Mundschutz tragen.
Die Mannschaft von Shree hat sich nicht nur mit dem Abladen begnügt, sondern uns gleich angeboten als Helfer mitzupacken. Da bekommt der Name Diani Pamoja seinen Sinn – wir helfen alle zusammen – einfach toll!
Nach kurzer Überlegung war klar: erst 7 Kilo Bohnen in die Säcke, oben drauf – gut arrangiert – 12 Kilo Maismehl und daneben, vor dem Umfallen geschützt, noch ein Liter Speiseöl dazu. Schnur drum, Kleber drauf – so entstand schnell eine Arbeit Hand in Hand, als wäre das Team schon lange darin geübt.
Nach zweieinhalb starken Stunden waren die ersten 205 Pakete in den LKW gestapelt und für Donnerstag abholbereit. Weitere 205 Pakete standen nach der wohnverdienten Mittagspause mit Pizza und Softdrinks in den Regalen.

Herzlichen Dank an alle helfenden Hände!
Einen besonderen Dank senden wir heute an die Welcome Inn Hotels (Diani Sea Resort und Diani Sea Lodge), die uns die Infrastruktur eines ihrer Hotels zur Verfügung gestellt haben und natürlich an das engagierte Team vom Shree Greengrocers Supermarkt, die sich nicht nur mit der Lieferung zufrieden gegeben haben sondern gleich mit anpackten und uns ihren LKW zur Verfügung stellen.

Eine kleine Korrektur müssen wir noch weitergeben. Die Regierung bittet uns darum, unsere Lebensmittelpakete anzupassen, so dass alle Familien von allen helfenden Organisationen den gleichen Inhalt bekommen und möglichst soziale Gerechtigkeit entsteht. Dem Wunsch haben wir uns gerne angepasst – zumal unsere Pakete damit günstiger werden und wir mehr Familien als geplant helfen können!
Für die Statistiker unter uns: das Team hat heute mehr als 8 Tonnen Lebensmittel verpackt – Hut ab!

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*
*